Books 17 – 24

So life has been pretty manic for me of late! The final stages of planning a wedding abroad and organising everything for starting teacher training in September has left not much time for blogging! I have still been trying to read as much as I can (although I am behind my timescale) reviews and writing have taken a back seat. In order to catch up I have combined the last 8 books into one post with just a short write up about each.

Book 17 – Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (J K Rowling)harry potter cos

This is a re-read as I have read the series many times. I try and read the series each year just to keep the magic alive, and I just never get bored of this wizardry world. They are the ultimate source of comfort for me and within a sentence I am transported back to my happy magical place.

In this second instalment we are introduced to some of my favourite characters – Dobby, Gilderoy Lockhart and of course Moaning Myrtle. This had always been my favourite novel of the series until the final book was released and just blew me away.

 

 

Book 18 – The One (John Marrs)the one

Imagine if finding the one was as simple as taking a mouth swab. In this psychological thriller – its as simple as that – a DNA test that can determine your soulmate.

The story follows 5 individuals and their journeys meeting ‘the one’. But each story has an unthinkable twist.

This book is completely gripping and I devoured it in a matter of days. The chapters are short and filled with thrilling content which made me want to skip ahead to finish that characters story, but then I would be completely enthralled by the next character. It really does get you thinking and sparks serious conversation between those who have read it.

 

Book 19 – Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (J K Rowling)

HP POA

Third year at Hogwarts for Harry, Ron and Hermione and we are introduced to possibly one of the best characters in the entire series – Sirius Black. Misunderstood at the start of the book we are first scared of Sirius along with the terrifying Dementors.

The escape of Sirius sparks talks of Harry’s father and he learns more about his parents and their time at Hogwarts and just before their death.

In this book we also see a different side to Hermione and the beginnings of the Ron love story.

One of my favourite parts of the book is when Hermione reveals how she has been getting to all the extra classes with the TimeTurner and then uses this amazing piece of magical equipment to save Sirius and the lovable Buckbeak. She is my ultimate heroine.

Book 20 – The Goddess Revolution (Melissa Wells)   Goddess   

Food and body freedom for life? Sounds amazing right! I like many others have always struggled with body image and feeling insecure. Whilst I would say I have a pretty healthy relationship with food and don’t suffer with a guilt complex, I still have a very strained relationship with my body.

This book gives a completely refreshing perspective on how to be happy in your own skin and be at peace with your body. Self love is a strange concept for me. I feel like my peers and the media have normalised a hatred of ones body and that it is essential to strive to be skinnier, curvier, toned, taller, or smaller in order to be happy.

Mel’s book is a guide and handbook on how to change this perspective and be truly happy as you are. By accepting and practising self love we can treat our body with the respect it deserves and then naturally crave all that is good and truly nourishing. I think this book is something that everyone needs to read and I can see myself re-reading this many times. Like many other Brides I felt obsessive with loosing lbs before the big day and reading this enabled me to take a step back, reconnect with myself and ease the pressure I was feeling. I cannot wait to introduce this to more of my friends and family and spread the goddess word!         

 

Book 21 – The Reader on the 6.27 (Jean-Paul Didierlaurent)the reader

A charming and quirky read. Its a short book but full of delight with heartwarming characters.

Guylain lives on the edge of existence, working in a job he hates, he has but one pleasure in life. On his daily commute aboard the 6.27 train Guylain reads aloud to his fellow passengers.

He discovers a diary and reads this aloud. With each entry he falls in love with the writer, a woman who feels as lost as he does and he embarks on a journey to locate her.             

This book is definitely one for bibliophiles like myself!

 

Book 22 – Brilliant Primary School Teacher (Kevin Harcombe)primary teacher

In a bid to feel somewhat prepared for September – whilst also planning a wedding – I felt it time to do some reading.

This was a fantastic introductory book. It was full of amazing frank and honest advice as well as a guide to who’s who within a Primary School.

The book provides real scenarios and stories which provide great information well worth stealing! I would recommend this to anyone in my position about to start their teacher training year. It helped me to feel at ease and more confident/excited about September. I’m sure there will be many more teaching books within the blog after September!

 

 

Book 23 – Spandex and the City (Jenny T. Colgan) 

spandex

Holly Phillips is unlucky in love. Whilst on a girls night she meets a handsome guy in a bar but just as she says hi there is an armed robbery. Holly gets into an argument with the main guy in the heist and is taken hostage. Only to be saved by ‘Ultimate Man’ the city’s very own vigilante hero (think Batman).

Holly learns Ultimate man’s true identity and subsequently becomes his only ‘friend’ and eventually falls for him. But the villains weren’t finished! They have a plan to take down the internet and a mayhem unfolds.

This book started light and seemed like the perfect holiday read in the sun, however it lost its way and also my interest. I had to force myself to finish it and it felt like a hard task toward the end. I felt the characters were lost and became extremely unbelievable. The twist was obvious and not executed well. A story with so much potential but just missed the mark in my eyes.

 

Book 24 – The Vintage Guide to Love and Romance (Kirsty Greenwood)vintage guide

Jessica Beam is a fun loving party girl who really knows how to have a good time. However her life is a bit of a mess, no clean clothes and forgetting to turn up for work doesn’t create the best impression.

A series of unfortunate events leave her down on her luck. Homeless and friendless she turns to her one living relative for help, her Grandmother who she has never met. Unbeknown to Jess, Matilda Beam is also in need of help. Living in debt and with no source of income she is attempting to get her 1950’s Good Women guides published again, but times have changed and there is no market for this vintage way of behaving.

A plan is hatched for Jessica and Matilda to work together, taming Jessica’s millennial ways by giving her a 1950’s personality and image makeover in order to catch one of London’s most eligible bachelors.

I loved this book! Such an easy read and absolutely perfect for being on holiday. The characters were so heartwarming and the book flowed incredibly well I finished it in one day. I will most definitely be checking out more of Kirsty Greenwood’s novels.

 

 

Leave a comment